Boston Proper Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boston Proper
Shop dresses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Stripe twist-front maxi dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boston Proper.

Stripe twist-front maxi dress

Surplice neckline dress meets detailed empire waist. Built-in bra.
• Viscose/spandex.
• Imported.
• Machine wash or dry clean.
• XXS(0), XS(2-4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16).
• Black/ivory.
• FIT NOTE: Semi fitted; shaped fit that skims the body. Follow the given size equivalents for the best fit. If in between sizes take the next smaller size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Review 1 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarMars
City:Hampshire ill
Yes, I recommend this product.

Sooooo comfy

PostedOctober 25, 2012
This dress is the most comfortable dress I own. Wear it all the time. Very casual, or dress it up. It feels amazing! The material is great. Doesn't wrinkle, this is the best!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer AvatarWestchesterWoman
City:New Castle, NY
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love Love Love it!

PostedAugust 2, 2012
User submitted photo
I purchased this dress for my vacation. I received so many compliments, especially from my husband. It's soft, fits perfect and is extremely flattering for a plus size. I am a 12 and ordered a medium.
Loved it and even wore it on the plane to come home! You can wear it with sandals or high wedges, either - or, it looks fantastic. The feel is incredible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarTWall
City:Kansas City, MO
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love this dress

PostedJuly 18, 2012
I was apprenhensive about the stripes, but this dress is great. Very soft and free flowing....everytime I wear it, I get compliments. I'm glad I got it...
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatar1stmrsclooney
City:Nashville, TN
Yes, I recommend this product.

Top part of the dress a bit too roomy.

PostedJuly 13, 2012
I am 5'2", 36C, 140 lbs. and the length is just right if worn with a small or high heel. I would have to hem it if I wanted to wear flats. The top part of the dress is a bit too roomy. Nonetheless, I was complimented the very first time I wore it. It's really really cute worn with a black pasmina.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer AvatarMelody301
Yes, I recommend this product.

Just as the Picture Shows

PostedJune 28, 2012
This dress is comfortable and soft. Covers the bust line nicely, gathers slightly at the waist, then falls nicely over the hips. I'm 5'3 110 lbs, ordered an xxs, and will not be able to wear this dress with flats because it will drag. I have to wear it with at least a 2 1/2" heel. I received many compliments with this dress. This is my first purchase from BP and I'm sold. Only issue I had with the design is that the stripes didn't match up on the side seam #kind of a pet peeve of mine#.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarRmark
City:Solon OH

Love this dress

PostedJune 25, 2012
I just got this dress and can't wait to wear it! I am
5'2". 135 and curvy and the xs is perfect!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarFrugalFashionista
No, I would not recommend this product.

Fabulous Summer Dress!

PostedJune 22, 2012
I do agree with some of the other reviewers that it may run a bit big...I bought a size S (I am 5'9, ~138lbs, 36C), and find it's a smudge loose in the chest, but nothing that looks bad, or that a lightly padded bra wouldn't solve. ;) The material is so soft, and it drapes very nicely over the body. As I am on the taller side, I appreciate the length, but if one is shorter, a hem might be necessary. I love this dress - it is one of my husband's favorites!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer AvatarLaFemmeJolie
City:FL
Yes, I recommend this product.

I'm happy with this dress because it isn't too long on me.

PostedMay 8, 2012
Since I am only 5', it is a challenge to find a maxi dress that isn't too long and isn't too overpowering with voluminous fabric. I can actually wear this casual maxi dress with or without my high heels! I'm not overly fond of the stripes, but I am keeping it just because it isn't too long on me. I believe it would be even more flattering in solid colors or a smaller print. Fabric is soft and comfy and if you are smaller busted, you can go without a bra.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer AvatarRBabers
City:Los Angeles, Ca
No, I would not recommend this product.

Horrible Fit!

PostedMay 7, 2012
This dress is HUGE!
I ordered an XXS. I am not a super skinny woman, small, but not really small.. in fact, I have a 34DDD chest.
The dress is HUGE. I cannot express this enough.
Huge in the back, huge in the straps, huge everywhere.
It's irritating to have to waste almost $20 in shipping and return shipping to discover that they don't know how to properly size a dress.
Super disappointed!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer AvatarTexasborngirl
City:Dallas
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Summer Maxi

PostedMay 7, 2012
Other than this dress being to long, (a constant theme with BP Maxis), the overall fit is great. I have a full chest at 36D and the neck line works perfect for me. Just the right amount of cleavage to still be tasteful. The material is good quality and the pattern is nice without being to "busy". I ordered the small and it fit my 6-8 body just right. If you're super tall you are set, if you're short to average, prepare to have it shortened.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarMissPriss
City:Lafayette, Louisiana
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Dress

PostedApril 10, 2012
This maxi dress is the best. It is true to size, and the fabric is perfect-- not too thin! Thanks for listening BP! I highly recommend this dress to anyone who has a pool party to attend or a beach trip planned!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatarbinky4me
City:atl, ga
Yes, I recommend this product.

not for large busts

PostedApril 10, 2012
i wanted to keep this dress since i loved the black and white stripes and the detail under the bust but it didn't look right. i'm a little heavier (still proportionate size 6) and the section right under the bust didn't lay flat and too much cleavage. i'm normally ok with cleavage but i wanted it to fit as it appears in the picture: full coverage. too bad...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Avatarshoptoyoudrop
City:Long Island
Yes, I recommend this product.

Great Dress, just a bit long

PostedApril 4, 2012
Love this dress. I am 5'2" and 102 lbs. a size xxs (0) and had to have several inches shortened by a seamstress because it was a bit too long. It was dragging all over the floor when I put it on. Except for the length, the fit is true to size and very figure flattering. The stripes work very well and are not too busy. Great material, very soft and comfortable. Great go to dress for many occasions.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarDonut
City:FLORIDA
Yes, I recommend this product.

The perfect summer dress!

PostedApril 2, 2012
I ordered this dress just thinking it would pack well & it looked cute for our trip to the Bahamas!
Well, my hubby LOVED it and NO kidding.... In only about an hour, I received about a dozen compliments from complete strangers! I want one in EVERY color!
It is a MUST HAVE Maxi!!!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarPeashuder
City:Las Vegasj
Yes, I recommend this product.

Very flattering fit

PostedMarch 22, 2012
I love this dress. I am 5ft tall 110lbs and 34DD. I ordered an XS. This dress is amazing. Like the previous reviewer I was concerned about the horizontal stripes, but it fits perfectly (no bra needed) and it is very slimming. I wish there were some...I would have this in every color!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jaye
Washington
 
Please wait while more information about Jaye is loaded.
Additional information about Jaye could not be loaded.
Posted April 7, 2012
Just wondering if that's the size you order normally from Boston Proper?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Stripe twist-front maxi dress
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarTheGlitzy1
City:Gurnee, IL
Yes, I recommend this product.

Really Cute....I cannot have enough maxi dresses!!

PostedMarch 13, 2012
When I first looked at the dress, I thought it would be too big and that stripes would not be flattering since they are horizontal. However,material and quality is very nice. I ordered the xxs and it fit perfect. You will not have to wear a strapless bra, since the straps are a bit wider. It is not too low, but sexy enough! I am 5 ft 1 and weigh between 95 and 100 lbs. If I wear flat sandals, I would need to have it hemmed maybe an inch or so. But with a higher sandals that would not be necessary.
I would note that you would have to be comfortable with horizontal stripes. Otherwise, go for it. It is really cute.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.