Boston Proper Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Boston Proper
Shop 19.99 or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Ruched inset top

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Boston Proper.

Ruched inset top

Sexy square-neck knit top shapes the bust and slims the torso; three-quarter sleeves.
• Rayon/spandex.
• Imported.
• Machine wash.
• XXS(0), XS(2-4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18).
• Navy, white, brown, ultramarine, black or lipstick.
• FIT NOTE: Semi fitted; shaped fit that skims the body. Follow the given size equivalents for the best fit. If in between sizes take the next smaller size.
Average Customer Rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
0
17 out of 23(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ruched inset top
Review 1 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarKC525
City:CA
Yes, I recommend this product.

Perfect Red Top!

PostedDecember 21, 2011
I love this top! Can be dressed up or down (as is the case with many BP tops)! Bought the red nearly a year ago and it still looks brand new. I'm tall (5'9") and thin, the medium fits like a dream. I get tons of compliments! Get this one now!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer AvatarGlamChaser
City:Houston, Texas
No, I would not recommend this product.

Not a keeper

PostedNovember 8, 2012
This top didn't fit as expected, so I returned it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarLosi
City:Michigan
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love this shirt

PostedAugust 29, 2012
The material is a comfortable mix and sits snug to the body. I love the square next line, it always balances out my broad shoulders.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer AvatarChiluvr1228
City:SW Florida
No, I would not recommend this product.

Runs large & very thin

PostedMay 19, 2012
I guess BP tops are not for me. I'm petite (5'1") and a 38D. This top was hanging off the shoulders and dips very low in front. The material in back is very thin so if you have the slightest bulge it will show.
If you're tall, thin & have a large bust this will work.
Boston Proper - please consider making more of your clothing in petites! I have seen some gorgeous dresses & skirts but since your prices are already high, I hate to spend more $$$ having everything altered.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer AvatarSunnyPHX
City:Phoenix, AZ
Yes, I recommend this product.

Back is a little sheer

PostedApril 22, 2012
I ordered it in white, size small. Looks great, but has a tendency to shift on the shoulders, showing a bra strap. The back is a little sheer too.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarLongIslandTAM
City:Port Jefferson, NY
Yes, I recommend this product.

pretty and as pictured!!

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
I bought this in the teal, goes with my eyes and I had compliments as soon as I put it on! It is soft and beautiful!!
The only thing I can say is that the material is not thick and while I love it, do know that it will show all of your "curves" and if you have any extra on the sides...that too.
This fits great, a little long in the torso which is ok, as I'm about 5'6" and this is a nice, flattering fit. I purchased this in a small. Love this shirt!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarClothesChick
City:Syracuse NY
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love the black, not so much the lipstick

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Bought the black first. Fit great, bra showing not a problem cuz the whole black thing blended in. The red just did not work for me. I really don't have a belly, but with red I sure looked it! Highly recommend the black, very flattering. Not sure why the red didn't work, kind of sad about it, because i loved the shade. Great top. This comes in brown right? : )
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarHaveCurves
City:VA
Yes, I recommend this product.

Super Sexy

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Love the fit and feel!! Absolutely gorgeous and really sexy!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarTorresi
City:Palo Alto
Yes, I recommend this product.

Love this top!!!

PostedDecember 1, 2011
I just received this top... I actually ordered in black and white and following advice from other shoppers, I got the x-small.... It fits perfectly. It has a very flattering fit. Great for work. I'm 5'7'', 129 lbs if that helps.
Another winner!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarColoradoCutie
City:Colorado Springs
Yes, I recommend this product.

Adorable

PostedAugust 11, 2011
I just recieved this shirt today and think I will be wearing it a lot! Bought it in the red as it is my signature color. Only thing I have to say is it is not the burgundy shade it appears to be in one of the pics. It is actually pretty red. Still love it as it will match some new suede high heels I just bought even better than expected. Cant wait to wear this out on the town.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Avatarsungypsy
City:Arizona
Yes, I recommend this product.

Perfect "Go-To" top

PostedJuly 8, 2011
I finally gave in and ordered this top. I love it, and ended up going back for another one, same color. I can dress it up or down, and it's a versatile must for any wardrobe. Perfect for travel - doesn't wrinkle too badly, nor did it shrink when I laundered it. The fabric hugs the body, but can be adjusted so it doesn't appear too snug.
I had a problem with the bra showing, as mentioned - and ended up having to wear a strapless one. Also the body of the top tends to run long - my top hits below the hip.
I would have liked to have seen more colors than offered.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarKatydid
City:Texas
Yes, I recommend this product.

Flattering Top!

PostedMay 29, 2011
This top makes me look so busty and slim, hiding my tummy (which is FAR from slim). The square neck is flattering, and although I do have to watch which bra I wear so that it doesn't peek out at the corners, I didn't have to buy a special one. A demi (as opposed to full coverage) bra works for me. I got this in the red color and it sure grabbed attention. ;)
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarNana4au
City:Birmingham, AL
Yes, I recommend this product.

Awesome fit and good looking!!!

PostedMay 23, 2011
This top is very flattering and slimming! It has a great neckline and fabric is great! I love it! Also, I like it because it is not cut so low as many of the tops from Boston Proper.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarArtsyChick
City:Seattle
Yes, I recommend this product.

LOVE IT!

PostedMay 6, 2011
I almost didn't buy this top based on all the negative reviews stating you have to have a body like the model to look good in this top. I'm a size 14 and size Large looks awesome on me. I think the ruching is extremely slimming. The only way you would run into problems with this top is if you have bulges in your torso because its so fitted. If you have a nice hourglass shape it doesn't matter what size you are it will look great. I got it in lipstick and the color is amazing! It is a little open on the neckline but I didn't have any trouble hiding my bra.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer AvatarMegolas
City:Lincoln, NE
Yes, I recommend this product.

I Wish It Fit

PostedMay 5, 2011
I LOVE the sexy basic knit tops I have from BP--my reversible tank top, my 3/4 sleeve v-neck, my 3/4 sleeve square-neck, etc. And since I loved the sqaure-neck and the ruched front design of this top and I know Boston Proper knit tops are very good quality, I bought it. It's soft and very good quality, but the fit was so poor I ended up returning it. I ordered an XS, and a BP XS usually fits me perfectly, but the neck still dipped so low it showed my bra cups, even with a very low-cut bra. I don't think my height is the issue, I'm 5'5", and my torso isn't unusually short, so surely one shouldn't have to be taller than that for it to fit properly. The neck was also much too wide--it showed my bra straps, and it gaped in the back. Granted, I'm not very buxom, but I'm a B cup, so I think the smallest available size should fit me. I'm a little petite, but I'm not that tiny! So basically, I would recommend this to a friend who is curvier than me, but for women who are petite, this might not be a good knit top. Still, the design is SO cute and could be very flattering if it fit, so I would still recommend ordering this top to try it and see if it fits you--it could be worth it. :)
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer AvatarJennifer
City:NJ
Yes, I recommend this product.

Adorable top! A+

PostedApril 19, 2011
I bought this top, despite the many negative reviews I saw here... and I was honestly thrilled - when i slipped it on. The square neck, and ruching down the front are very flattering on the bust. it's light weight, soft, stretchy knit hugs in for a sexy shape... but not too much. The neck was NOT too low... and I had NO trouble with my regular bra - it didn't show at all... This top is gonna be one of my new favorites!!! A+
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer AvatarCalilady
City:California
Yes, I recommend this product.

fits great

PostedApril 18, 2011
This top looks great and fits well. I ordered the next smaller size as recommended and it fit fine. I have a larger bust, so that may be why it fit better than other reviewers. The ruching helps hide my not so perfect abs. I difinately don't have the great body of the model, but I still think it's a fattering fit.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer Avatarpcb3red
City:Texas
No, I would not recommend this product.

Poor fit

PostedApril 4, 2011
I have to agree with some of the other reviews. One reason why I love BP is most of their clothes fit me perfectly. This top looks so great on the model, but I bought this months ago and every time I put it on I take it off. You would think it would be so flattering but I have yet to find a bra, except my strapless, that does not show. I should have sent it back.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Avatar1Shopper
City:Kansas
No, I would not recommend this product.

Sad shopper

PostedMarch 31, 2011
My experience with this top was not good. It was really big and even when I washed it hoping for shrinkage and a better fit it was still big and my bra hung out on both sides of it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ruched inset top
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer AvatarShopGirl2
City:Litchfield Hills, CT
No, I would not recommend this product.

Neckline WAY to low....

PostedMarch 30, 2011
Too bad the neckline is way low....I wear size 4 in tops. According to BP, I would wear XS. I ordered this twice thinking the first one was made incorrectly. The second one fit the same. When I pulled the neckline up, the shoulder area buckled. I really loved the style and material, too bad about the fit.......
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>